South African Electronic Music

02.07.21 words by Will Dickson

From Monday 5th July through to Saturday 10th July, NTS Radio explores the rich variety of South African electronic music through a series of one-off radio shows.

Hosted by a diverse range of special guest selectors and artists, each show will dive deep into a specific sub-genre within the South African electronic scene, past and present.

Check the full schedule below:

South African Funk & Disco w/ Flames Shilowa

Monday 5th July / 5-6pm SAST / 4-5pm BST
Pretoria selector Flames Shilowa kicks off the series with a celebration of funk and disco from South Africa starting from its origins in the 1970s.

Bubblegum w/ DJ Okapi

Monday 5th July / 6-7pm SAST / 5-6pm BST
An overview of the synth-laden style of dancepop named 'bubblegum', popular in South African townships throughout the late '80s and early '90s. Hosted by Joburg collector DJ Okapi

Kwaito w/ DJ realROZZANO

Wednesday 7th July / 7-8pm SAST / 6-7pm BST
Emerging from South African clubs in the early '90s, Kwaito takes influence from US house music, disco and hip-hop, often mixed with samples from traditional African music.

South African House w/ Paul Waxon

Thursday 8th July / 11-12am SAST / 10-11pm BST
Cape Town selector Paul Waxon explores the many varied sounds of South African House music at the turn of the 21st century.

GQOM w/ Fela Gucci

Friday 9th July / 3-4pm SAST / 2-3pm BST
Evolving out of the Kwaito sound in the late '00s, GQOM is known for its raw, minimal and percussive instrumentals, which flip the house-indebted four to the floor pulse in favour of a more syncopated, organic rhythm. Hosted by Fela Gucci.

Amapiano w/ Nodiggity

Saturday 10th July / 6-7pm SAST / 5-6pm BST
Perhaps the most significant offshoot of South African dance music in the last few years, the Amapiano sound blends deep house with soulful samples and atmospheric synth.



ShopMy NTS
Live now

Live on 1

Live on 2